top of page
  • Writer's pictureEmily Arnold

Word Wednesday #1 - Values!


On Wednesdays (as often as I keep up with this!), I'd like to take a moment to

talk about a word from behavioral or improvisational terminology that's been sticking with me lately.


This week's word is VALUES. During my Multiple Exemplar interviews, I've been asking the humans what their values are related to the topic at hand. I feel it might be important for me to define that term.


Think of values as labels on a compass rose. They are not our destinations or goals, but rather the directions in which we move. Our behaviors either move us along the directions of our values, or away from them. Sometimes we make mistakes and lose our sense of direction, and that's ok. Sometimes we have to choose between two values, and that's ok too. Sometimes our chosen values change over time, and that's definitely ok.





Want to learn more about how find and explore your values? A couple of ways... - Ask your therapist if they're trained in Acceptance and Commitment Therapy. (Also... get a therapist!) (ethical disclosure: ACT implementation is not my professional therapeutic expertise. It's a read-about-it-and-get-super-excited-and-disseminate-what-I-do-know-and-use-the-concepts-alongside-my-main-work topic for me.) - Read Get Out of Your Mind... And Into Your Life! by Steve Hayes - Read The Happiness Trap by Russ Harris - Literally Google "act values"

5 views0 comments

Recent Posts

See All
bottom of page